|1762|| A shipmaster by the name of Scott landed
on Exploits Island and build
|1768||Exploits was marked on a map which John Cartwright had.|
|1806||The Register of Fishing Rooms for Exploits began.|
|1820|| Thomas Smith surveyed a map of Exploits
Hr. A church was marked
|1836||John Peyton Jr. moved from Exploits to Twillingate where he later died.|
|1842|| A school was built to serve the Protestant
population. A Wesleyan
Church was opened.
|1845||Census taken population 326|
|1849||John Foote started a sawmill at Exploits.|
|1869||Census taken population 535.|
|1870||Edward Evans and his wife Caroline Ball moved to Northern Arm.|
|1874||Census taken population 623.|
|1877||The first linking of the two Islands, A wooden drawbridge was opened.|
|1880's|| A road was built around the harbours.
Workmen were paid 25 cents
|1888||Thomas Winsor built the "Tor-House".....still there today.|
|1897||The first Salvation Army Officer, Captain J. Baggs arrived at Exploits.|
|1899||A second wooden bridge was officially opened on Sept.04,1899.|
|1901|| Twenty-seven people were employed at
a lobster packing plant.
A Salvation Army School was built at Exploits.
|1902||Josiah Manuel was operating a sawmill at Charles Brook.|
|1903||The local Doctor H.K. Aberton died and was buried at Exploits.|
|1933|| Harry Hutchings hauled his house from
Charles Brook to Brown's Arm.
The men from Exploits helped .
|1935||Postoffice was hauled form the West Island over ot the East Island.|
|1943||William Wells (and Richard) relocated from Swan Island to Exploits.|
|1945||A concrete bridge was official opened.|
|1946||A new Church of England school was opened.|
|1947||A new United Church School was opened. It still stands today.|
|1953|| Harold Winsor & Nelson Baker were
drowned walking from Lewisporte
|1961||George Budgell house burnt.|
|1969|| The United Church was officially closed.
200 people attended the
If anyone can help update this page please E-Mail firstname.lastname@example.org
Researched; Designed; and Posted by Cliff Lilly Little Burnt Bay, NF. A0G 3B0
No Part of this page should be used only
for personal use